Chair of Sociology, in particular of Modeling and Simulation

Honors and Awards

Dezember 12, 2014
Karsten Donnay
The paper "Group Segregation and Urban Violence" co-authored by Karsten Donnay with a team of researchers from Geneva and Jerusalem has been selected as the recipient of the 2014 AJPS Best Article Award for the best article appearing in this year's American Journal of Political Science.
January 10, 2014 Dirk Helbing Dirk Helbing has been awarded an honorary PhD from the TU Delft.

172nd Dies Natalis at TU Delft.

April 18, 2013
Tobias Kuhn
The proposal of an "Open Scholar Foundation" by Tobias Kuhn is among the winners of the 1K challenge of the Beyond the PDF 2 conference.
October 3, 2012
Michael Mäs
Anatol-Rapoport-Prize of the section "Model building and social simulation" of the German Sociological Association (DGS) for the paper "In the short term we divide, in the long term we unite: Demographic crisscrossing and the effects of faultlines on subgroup polarization."
October 1, 2012
Dirk Helbing
Dirk Helbing has received the "Golden Idea Award 2012" by IDEE-SUISSE® – Schweizerische Gesellschaft für Ideen- und Innovationsmanagement for his project: «Self-Controlling Traffic Lights»

September 21, 2012

Thomas Chadefaux

Best Paper Award at Internet, Politics, Policy 2012 conference  
December 20, 2010 Wenjian Yu Secondprize in Fifth "ChunhuiCup"Innovation and EntrepreneurshipContest.(Automatic English Translation)
October 12, 2010 Heiko Rauhut Anatol-Rapoport Prize of the section "Modeling and Simulation" of the GermanSociological Association(DGS) for the paper "How Norms can Generate Conflict. An Experiment on the Failure of Cooperative Micro-Motives on the Macro-Level" (Fabian Winter, Heiko Rauhut, Dirk Helbing)
July 21, 2009 Arne Kesting Microscopic Modeling of Human and Automated Driving: Towards Traffic-Adaptive Cruise Control by Arne Kesting wins "Best Dissertation Award 2009" of ITSS Society! Intelligent Transportation Systems Society
December 05, 2008 Dirk Helbing Elected Member of the German Academy of Sciences "Leopoldina" German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
November 12, 2008 Anders Johansson The Global Security Challenge Competitions 2008 - Best Crowded-Places Idea (Crowd Vision) Global Security Challenge
October 16, 2008
Arne Kesting Siemens "ITS Award Straßenverkehrstechnik 2008"

for Alternative Identifying Methods in the Road Traffic

February 19, 2008 Kathrin Padberg "Zonta Club Paderborn Award" for outstanding scientific achievements
September 06, 2006 Kathrin Padberg Forschungspreise 2006 University of Paderborn
for the project: "Approximation of Time-dependent Transportation Processes"
Universität Paderborn


Wichtiger Hinweis:
Diese Website wird in älteren Versionen von Netscape ohne graphische Elemente dargestellt. Die Funktionalität der Website ist aber trotzdem gewährleistet. Wenn Sie diese Website regelmässig benutzen, empfehlen wir Ihnen, auf Ihrem Computer einen aktuellen Browser zu installieren. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf
folgender Seite.

Important Note:
The content in this site is accessible to any browser or Internet device, however, some graphics will display correctly only in the newer versions of Netscape. To get the most out of our site we suggest you upgrade to a newer browser.
More information

© 2015 ETH Zurich | Imprint | Disclaimer | 27 March 2015